Asian Food · Chinese Food · Malaysian Food

Bak Kut Teh in Melbourne? Sugarbun lah

The good thing about Melbourne is that they really have a wide range of Malaysian food ranging from the KL’s Hokkien mee with pork lard even to the humble Bak Kut Teh.  I really miss Bak Kut Teh (translated to Pork Ribs with Tea). One of my Malaysian friend from Klang told me the story where labourers in the past would pour soup in the rice, containing the pork ribs and that is where the famed dish was created somehow.

One of my friend introduced me to this place called Sugarbun. I thought it was a bakery selling sweet buns..I was wrong. Apparently, they have a big franchise over in East Malaysia.

1-IMG_2511
Nice Shopfront of Sugarbun!

After perusing the menu, we decided to go for the Dry version as that is not commonly found in Johor or Singapore. We added the offals such as the pig’s stomach to the dish as it can be rather tasty if prepared well. It had a set menu which we had a pear drink and a bandung drink at special prices.

1-IMG_2521
Dry BKT with pickled veg, soup and brown rice 

The pickled vegetables was a nice accompaniment to the actual dish- salty, sweet and slightly spicy. Honestly, I feel that the soup lacked a bit of punch unlike the Bak Kut Teh (BKT) I had over in Malaysia. The dried version of the Bak Kut Teh is a much better alternative, with the savoury sweet sauce generously enveloping the ribs, okra lotus roots, and offals. There was delicious pork meat balls in the base of the claypot. The pig’s stomach was cooked just right, which was perfect. The chilli was a little mild, just needed more chilli for an increased kick. Overall, the portions was pretty generous but I still helped my partner with the finger lickin ribs.

1-IMG_2522
Closed up view of BKT

I would not mind coming back again if I have the cravings for BKT. They gave me a VIP card which entitles you to discounts when you visit the shop often. Overall, I like the dried BKT here. The only thing is that it can be rather expensive as my bill totalled $42 just for two persons. Probably, the only way one can pay less is just ordering the dried BKT on its own. ($16.10) Thanks Sugarbun for bringing BKT here to Melbourne. 🙂

 

Sugar Bun 

Address: 205-207 Russell St, Melbourne 

9650 4336

Monday: Closed

Tues- Thurs: 12pm- 3pm, 6pm-9.30pm

Fri- Sun: 12pm-9.30pm

Leave a Reply

