Asian Food · Chinese Food · seafood · Singapore Food

Throwback: Chilli Crabs in Singapore

Couple of weeks ago, I did a transit in Singapore enroute to Japan. My family members asked what I wanted to have for my dinner. Of course, Chilli Crabs and Black Pepper Crabs was my answer. It was great to have friends who love eating as much as I do and they have great recommendations on the best place to have the yummy crabs.

One of my bestie, who is a food connoisseur recommended Seafood Paradise for their fresh selection and delicious seafood range. Thus,my lovely sister drove us to their branch over in Defu Lane. It was my first time trying them out and I wanted to have a better seafood experience than the former ones I had over in some of the seafood restaurants in Singapore.

I was in Singapore on a weekday and I was so lucky as they were having a promotion on their crabs. Crabby Weekdays – Buy 2 and get 1 free. That was so awesome. Finally, we can have a feast on the crabs.

cfoodparadise

The service staff was pretty attentive and we ordered a lot of dishes as everyone been hungry and wanting to have the yummy and delicious crabs. In order to make everyone satisfied, we ordered crabs in different styles: black pepper crabs, chilli crabs, salted egg and signature creamy butter crab. They were all so delicious and mouth watering. Finally, I found a place that serves delicious pepper and chilli crabs. Thumbs up as the chef has done great justice to the crabs.

And we ordered two serves of fried dough buns (mantou) to dip in the savoury chilli crab sauce. Unfortunately, the buns disappeared quickly even before I could take a picture of it. Though the crabs was not the Humongous Sri Lankan Crabs, the crab meat was equally firm and sweet. There was a hint of coriander and well mixed spices in the spicy and sweet sauce. It was just delicious. We even had crab roe in that dish and it was so well prepared and we licked the platter clean.

 

The crabs was the highlight and I enjoyed the Chilli and Pepper crabs best. The other two style was interesting and flavourful as well. We ordered other dishes such as the kangkong with belachan, oyster omelette and tofu with minced pork. The tofu was savoury and well prepared with the delicious topping of minced pork. The signature kangkong was tender and had the right amount of chilli and belachan to give it the extra punch. The only thing I found a little ordinary was the oyster omelette. It could have been a better presentation with a sizzling plate with the eggs bubbling with oysters. Thought it needed just a bit more gusto to this dish.

 

 

I heard that this branch would be closed soon and will be relocating to Marina Bay Sands. The overall price was great, especially with their specials on their crabs. So, do hurry and feast on their crabs while you can. They have opened another branch in Changi Airport Terminal 2, which is simply perfect for people who frequently travel or live out in the East. Really Delicious Crabs- best crabs in 2016. I cannot wait to revisit them again.

 

Seafood Paradise

91 Defu Lane 10 Singapore 539221

+65 6487 2429

Mon to Sun: 11.30am to 2.30 pm, 5.30pm to 11pm

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

